Second blog post.

In my field of electrical technology I run into technical writing all the time. The most common form of technical writing I encounter is in the form of datasheets. Datasheets are documents that contain all the information you could need about a particular component from pin-outs to how the output will change with variations in temperature. Below is an example of one of the last pages found in most datasheets. These typically sum up all of the information into a grid so it can be quickly referenced. This particular one is for a 555 timer which is a very common componet in most digital electronics.

One of the last pages of a Fairchild brand 555 timers datasheet.                                                     Image obtained from datasheetq.com

Another place I encounter technical writing in my field is in travel documents for products I am testing at USNR. I work with their TriCam scanners that use a camera mounted on the top to look at the points created by diffracting a laser into a line on the bottom and firing it at the lumber to be scanned the image below is one of the models of these I typically work with. I have to separate the controller and scan head and test them individually. After I test them I create travel paperwork for each of them that includes the parts serial number and what exactly is wrong with it. The travel paperwork informs whoever receives it next what I have found and  the course of action I recommend to fix the problem.

A TriCam Sensor.                                                                                                     Image from pubweb.usnr.com

An example of a professional website in my field is datasheetcatalog.com.  This website is a depository of datasheets from many different companies and can be an invaluable resource when trying to troubleshoot or build a circuit. What I like about this particular website as opposed to other similar ones is the background isn’t just solid white. It has a circuit board design as the background which can be a nice distraction for the eyes when you are hunting for that specific part number in a long list of similar part numbers. Their home page is pretty well designed, it has seven options other than English in the top right hand corner and right in the middle of the page is a grouping of company logos of the companies they have datasheets for. These logos are links that take you right into that manufacturers datasheets.

Blog design

I chose the theme I did because it is simple and not flashy while being professional. while the background is a plain white I think the blue helps break up the page. I chose the header picture I did because I thought it would help convey a sense of learning and desire for knowledge. I still might change the design and theme of my blog. When I started the blog I was more concerned at the time with getting the assignment done than making the blog look just right. I didn’t run into many problems setting up my blog. The biggest problem I ran into was figuring out how to get the class blogs plugin on my blog. I solved this by double checking the instructions provided and looking on the forums on moodle to see if anyone else was having a similar issue.

3 thoughts on “Second blog post.

  1. Adam, I liked this quick look into the world of electrical technology. I really had no idea how complex and tedious it is. This is a really interesting career you’re delving into.
    The images you provided were fascinating to me because, for one, I really like charts, and two, the gadgets used in all careers simply grasp my attention. I believe you captioned and attributed them correctly. On my blog, I hot-linked the page to the authors page from Creative Commons.
    The datacheetcatalog.com was very handy. I clicked on certain things, and I really liked how it just took me to the manufactures datasheets. Also, like you mentioned, the circuit board back ground was fun.
    What got you into this line of work in the first place?

  2. Adam,
    This was a really interesting post! I liked learning about the TriCam and your line of work. Nice use of the datasheet and the image of the TriCam. The pictures you posted with your layout definitely helped with its professionalism. Don’t forget to ask a question at the end of your post!

  3. Hi, Adam!
    You got good feedback from Genna, and I will echo it: your site is coming right along. It is clean, clear, and professional looking.
    I like your use of headers: consider using title caps, and consider re-wording them to be different than the assignment–not required, just a thought–an opportunity to add a personal touch.

    Your writing is both friendly and informed, which is perfect. Don’t forget to hotlink your image attributions.

    Other than that, I felt smarter when I left your blog than when I got here 🙂
    Sandy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *